RSS Facebook YouTube

Erick Birkin Takes Topless Can-Am Sprint Feature

By admin | 19 August 2013 | Headlines | | 0 Comments   

08/16/2013 (Auburn MI)   Summer made a rare appearance at Tri-City Motor Speedway as the track welcomed Veterans and current military members.  The third event of the Can-Am topless Sprint Car series, which combines the Michigan Traditional Sprint and Ontario Topless Sprint Car series’, was the premier division of the night.

#0 Steve Irwin and #89 Chris Pobanz led the field of sprint car drivers for the start of the 25 lap feature.  Irwin, who won his heat, took the early advantage. #48 Mike Birkin would make the pass on lap 20 and take the checkered flag over Irwin. #00 Joe Irwin, #19 Joe Bares, and Pobanz would be the top five.  #31 Chuck Wilson took the other heat race.

#6r Carl Ries took advantage of his front row start to lead the first 8 laps of the Comp Cams Late Model Feature event.  He was working the top side of the track in hopes of pulling away from the field.  But, once again, it was points leader #0x Zach Olger that tracked the leader down and made the winning pass on lap nine of twenty-five.  He cruised to victory lane for another time.  Last weeks winner, #5 Brasington would finish a distant second. #117 Kevin Reeve, Ries, and #75 Rod Laney were the top five finishers. #20 Joe Hanson and Brasington posed for heat race winner photos.

The Auburn Hotel Street Stock feature would go green to checkers in their 20-lap feature.  #34r Jerry Light led laps one and two, but #3 Loren Short made his move early and was able to slip and slide his way to the finishing flag for another feature win.  #1k would challenge Short the entire event but was unable to pass and settled for second.  #75s Kevin Strong, #7d Brenten Deyoung and #7r Dave Newcomb were the top five.  Short, Strong, and Newcomb would win heats.  #32 Steve Ulman would take the B-Main.

Isaac Wolfgang took the field to the green flag and led the first six laps of the Elgin Pro Stock Feature event.  #93 John Robbins took over and led a few laps.  However, it wasn’t long before last week’s winner #21 Steve Hilliker took control.  The veteran driver would show the way to another feature win. #53 Shane Aeschliman, #M65 Rick Spencer, Robbins, and #01 Randy Radabaugh were the top five finishers. Radabaugh and Wolfgang took the heat race win.

Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA drivers were the final competitors on the speedway for their feature event. #511 Chaz Prey led the first lap.  However, the eighth place starter, #42 Craig Vance, found an extra lane on the high side and was leading by the second lap.  He would be involved with a tight battle for that top spot with #20w AJ Ward and #33 Todd Matheson, who would end up finishing behind Vance at the checkered flag.  This would be Vance’s first feature of 2013. #7d Myron Deyoung and #D42 Don Sauter completed the top five. Prey and #72 Terry Gittens grabbed the heat race wins.


Next week is the Figure 8 championship at TCMS.  This full show will also include, Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA Modified, Elgin Pro Stocks, and Auburn Hotel Street Stocks, Comp Cams Late Models. Entertainment provided by: Mueller’s Auto Repair and Machine Shop. General Admission for adults $14, 55 and better $13, 7-13 year olds $8, 6 years and under FREE! The first race will be on the track at 7:55.  For more information regarding next week’s shows and any show in 2013, Including the Battle By the Bay on September 6th and 7th, visit our website !  Come see what everyone is talking about at the New Tri City Motor Speedway!!!

08/16/2013 Military Appreciation Night Winners:

Auburn Hotel Bar and Grill Street Stocks: #3 Loren Short
8.16.2013 Feature Winner Website-9   

Elgin Pro Stocks- #21 Steven Hilliker
8.16.2013 Feature Winner Website-2

Comp Cams Late Models: #0x Zach Olger
8.16.2013 Feature Winner Website-5

Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA Modified: #42 Craig Vance
8.16.2013 Feature Winner Website-34

Can-Am Topless Sprint Car Series: # 48 Erick Birkin
8.16.2013 Feature Winner Website-14