RSS Facebook YouTube

Fans Pack The House At Tri City Motor Speedway to Witness Sprints On Dirt Season Championship.

By admin | 27 September 2012 | Headlines | | 0 Comments   

09/22/12 WINNERS:

Michigan Race Tire Warehouse Late Models: #0x Zach Olger

McLaren Bay Regional IMCA Modifieds: #27 Matt Szecsodi

Advance Auto Glass and More Street Stocks: #99 Doug Helsel

Tri City Ice Hawks Pro Stocks: #54- Chaney Newland

Speed Pro ASCS Sprints On Dirt:  #07x Dain Naida


Fans Pack The House At Tri City Motor Speedway to Witness Sprints On Dirt Season Championship.


09/22/2012 (Auburn MI)   With weather predictions for Saturday being forecasted as unfavorable for racing, fans and drivers alike poured into Michigan newest racing facility in Auburn to watch the crowning of the ASCS Sprints on Dirt Champion for 2012.  This show was not originally on the schedule for 2012, but came together within the previous three weeks as SOD was pulled from a scheduled appearance at another racing facility.  With the help of Steve Puvalowski and SOD Race Director Mike Strevel, a show, sponsored by Saginaw Welding Supply, was created in order to accommodate the Sprint Car fans and drivers.  Also added to the card were Late Models, IMCA Modifieds, topless Pro Stocks, and Street Stocks. 113 drivers came to support the added show.

Twenty-Eight Sprint car drivers from the Midwest and Canada made the trip to pick up the big prize of $2000 to win courtesy of Engine Pro.  This created some exciting heat races as the field needed to be shrunk down to the twenty that would start the feature event.  Heat race wins were captured by #49t Greg Dalman, #2m Dustin Daggett, #00 Ryan Grubaugh and #07x Dain Naida. The Brodix Heads dash went to #31 Shawn Dancer and #49 Andy Teunessen took the B-main victory. As per the ASCS SOD press release, the outside front row, starting Naida, raced hard with pole sitter #17 Jared Horstman the first handful of laps before the eventual 2012 champion Dalman made an incredible pass for the lead on lap nine. After hard contact with a lapped car on lap 18, Dalman dropped back to fourth and Naida inherited the lead. Dalman suffered some front end damage, mainly to his nose wing. However, this didn’t slow the driver of the Fausey Racing #49t as he battled his way back to second and was closing on eventual winner Naida as the checkers flew.

The field of Eighteen Michigan Tire Warehouse Late Models took the green flag with 2012 track champion #55 Roger Wing and crowd favorite #75 Rod Laney leading the charge.  Wing would find himself out front for the first eight laps of the scheduled thirty-two lap feature.  However, multi-time feature winner and eighth place starter #0x of Zach Olger that would pass Wing on lap nine and never look back.  He dominated the field for the third time in 2012 to take the final LM checkered flag of the season.  Wing, in his final season, finished second.  He was followed by #20d Dan Delong, #0p Kris Patterson Jr., and #9r Curtis Roberts.  Heats were captured by Olger, Roberts and Laney.  The B-Main was won by #42 Bruce Vance.

The McLaren Bay Regional IMCA Modified feature had a pair of Clio natives on the front row in Season Champion feature winner #27 Matt Szecsodi and #511 Chaz Pray leading the field of twenty to the green flag.  Szecsodi took the lead and never looked back as he led from green to checkered flag to grab his second feature in a row and second feature of the season.  #20w AJ Ward put on a show as the Ionia native piloted his machine from a seventeenth place starting position to finish in second.  #7d Myron DeYoung came from eleventh to take third place.  #14 Chris Barton, who had to win the B-main to make the feature, finished in an impressive fourth place and was followed by #42 Craig Vance.  Heat gold went to #72 Terry Gittens, #19f Joey Fowler, and #776r Rusty Zeigler.

The Tri City Ice Hawks Pro Stock division had a different look for the night as the raced without the roof on their cars, which gave the spectators a unique view of the drivers wrestling their machines around the 3/8ths clay oval. #24 Reb Marble and #88 Todd Bush brought the field of sixteen to the green flag of their feature event.  Marble looked to be tough to beat as he hugged the bottom of the track keeping the field behind him for the first ten laps.  However, as the event went on, Marble had to go slower in order to keep the car stuck to the bottom groove.  This allowed #54 Chaney Newland to make his move to the front.  Track Champion #M65 Rick Spencer, who started in row four with Newland, was able to keep up with Newland but was unable to make the pass and ended up finishing second behind Newland and the finish.  #71 Timmy Near, #91 Gary Shank Jr., and #80 Jeramie Raby completed the top five.  Newland and Spencer were victorious in their heat races.

The final event of the night and of the 2012 season was the Advance Auto Glass and More Street Stock twenty-two lap feature.  #06 James Prochaska and #57 TJ Gilbert hoped to capitalize on their front row starting positions.  Prochaska would lead the opening laps until asphalt driver #0 Ray Derminer took the lead on lap three.  Derminer looked as if he was going to come out with a big upset win in his first visit to the dirt at Tri City as he led until lap eleven. However, it was Belding native and unofficial Crystal Motor Speedway champion #99 Doug Helsel that snatched the lead and ran away from the rest of the field to take the win in his first visit to TCMS.  #95 Steve Hilliker would finish in second and was followed by Derminer, #75 Ken Keller Jr., and #7r Dave Newcomb.  Newcomb, #28 Jared Rizer, and Hilliker would win their heat races while #8 Aaron Spearling would take the B-main victory.


Tri City Motor Speedway would like to take this opportunity to thank the fans, drivers, and sponsors that helped make the 2012 season a huge success.  For updates on the 2013 schedule and other activities happening at TCMS please visit us on our Tri City Motor Speedway Facebook page (Don’t forget to “like” us)!!!  Don’t forget about the Racer’s Swap Meet on October 13th!!!  You can find information on that event at !  Got Dirt?  If you didn’t get some this year, we’ll see you in April 2013 at the New Tri City Motor Speedway!!!