RSS Facebook YouTube

Hilliker Wins Dewey Rethman Memorial, Spearling Captures First Win!

By admin | 27 July 2014 | Headlines | | 0 Comments   

Hilliker Wins Dewey Rethman Memorial, Spearling Captures First Win!


07/25/14 (Auburn MI) 77 drivers came to compete on a cloudy Friday evening at Tri-City Motor Speedway.  A large crowd also poured through the front gate to witness all the action on Valley Electric Contractors and Faster Pastor race night.


The night kicked off with a 8-lap shoot out amongst area clergymen vying to be the fastest pastor in the area.  The inaugural race was won by Wheeler Road Church of Christ’s Youth Minister Adam Joseph.  He is the first to receive the traveling trophy to display at his church for the year.  In addition, over $7600 in donations from fans and TCMS was raised on behalf of area charities.


The Elgin Pro Stocks have had some expensive outings the past few weeks with multicar wrecks marring features over the majority of July.  However, the endings have been relatively constant with either #3 Loren Short or #21 Steven Hilliker capturing the wins.  This night’s Pro Stock feature was ran in memory of Michigan Motor Sports Hall of Fame Driver Dewey Rethman with extra money for the top prize and a trophy being presented to the winner from the Rethman family.  Short would start the night with a heat race win along with #35 Bob Fetters Sr, and #71 Timmy Near.  Fetters would lead the opening laps of the 20-lap feature event before Near would wrestle the lead away.  He would lead the field by running the high side.  With a couple laps remaining, a caution would bunch up the field putting Hilliker and Short back in the hunt for the lead and the win.  On the restart, Short would make the pass for the lead but was unable to pull away from Hilliker.  On the last corner of the last lap, Hilliker would dive to the bottom groove and under Short.  The drag race to the line would result in Hilliker winning by inches over Short.  #M65 Rick Spencer, Near, and #01 Randy Radabaugh finished within the top five.

Longtime TCMS driver #50 Ray Meylan has recently made his first appearances on the dirt within the past few weeks.  In just a short period of time, he has gotten the hang of wheeling his late model in the clay.  He would get his first checkered flag in The first Comp Cam Late Model heat race.  Hanover driver #117 Kevin Reeve would pick up the second heat race victory.  In the feature, Meylan would take advantage of his front row starting position and jump out to lead the first 11 laps.  However, defending champion and current point leader, #0x Zach Olger would battle Meylan for the lead and pulled away for his second feature win of the season.  #6r Carl Ries, Reeve, Meylan, and Ohio driver #102d Curtis Diesenroth completed the top five.

#71 Brenten DeYoung, his father #7d Myron DeYoung, and point leader #20w AJ Ward won heats in the Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA Modified division. In the feature, #72 Terry Gittins, as he had the week before, jumped out to the initial lead and looked as if the high side would be the fastest way to the finish.  Craig Vance, who had been sidelined without a car due to a terrible wreck in early June, found bite on the low side and was able to track down Gittins at lap 7.  Vance would lead the final 13 laps, ahead of M. DeYoung, Ward, Gittins, and B. DeYoung, to take his second feature win of 2014.

The Auburn Hotel Bar and Grill Street Stock heats were captured by #28 Jared Rizer, #26 Mike Vandermark, and #260 Ron Pope.  With the evening being started with a Faster Pastor race, it was divine intervention that “Pope” would lead the field to the green flag of the feature event.  It was #6 Larry Hawley that would lead the opening laps before Clio driver #8 Aaron Spearling would take over at lap five.  The past few weeks, Spearling has come close to getting that first feature win only to see the frustration of falling just short at the checkered flag.  Tonight, he would cling to the bottom of the track fighting off numerous attempts from Vandermark Jr trying to take the lead.  When the checkered flag fell on lap 20, it was finally Spearling that would enjoy the thrill of victory as he bested Vandermark, #12 Eric Lake, #7r Dave Newcomb, and #21 Dan Engel.

The new Stevens Cycle Sales and Service Stock V6 Bomber class saw #k11 Kendall Morrison back to his winning form as he swept both the heat race and feature event.  With just a few weeks remaining in this class, Morrison looks well on his way to being the champion of the bomber division.
Next week is Military Appreciation night at Tri-City Motor Speedway.  All currently serving and veterans that bring their Military ID or DD214 to the main gate will receive FREE admission!!  In addition, we are bringing back the Jeep and 4X4 drags!!!   Check out for more information regarding the remaining schedule, updated points, and results. Don’t forget that you can download our brand-new Smartphone app!!! Search “Tri City Motor Speedway” or “Tri City Racetrack” in your App Store and download this free app to receive access to instant updates, schedule information, results, points and more!!

07/25/2014 Valley Electric Contractors Winner:

Comp Cams Late Models: #0x Zach Olger
7.25.2014 Feature Winner Website-4







Auburn Hotel Bar and Grill Street Stocks: #8 Aaron Spearling
7.25.2014 Feature Winner Website-13







Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA Modified: #42 Craig Vance
7.25.2014 Feature Winner Website-10







Elgin Pro Stocks: #21 Steven Hilliker
7.25.2014 Feature Winner Website-2







Steven’s Cycle Sales and Service Stock V6 Bombers: #K11 Kendall Morrison
7.25.2014 Feature Winner Website-17