RSS Facebook YouTube

Hot Night as Krause wins Auburn Hotel Street Stock Special.

By admin | 08 July 2012 | Headlines | | 0 Comments   

07/06/12 WINNERS:

PRW Late Models: #6r Carl Ries

J&L Transport IMCA Modified: #26 Tom Sova

Auburn Hotel Street Stock: #7g Danny Krause Jr

Elgin Pro Stocks: #M65 Rick Spencer


Hot Night as Krause wins Auburn Hotel Street Stock Special.


07/06/12 (Auburn MI)   The biggest story of the week, the oppressive heat, didn’t stop eighty three drivers from attempting to tackle the racy 3/8ths mile dirt oval at Tri City Motor Speedway Friday night.  Military members past and present were guests of the track for Patriot Night.  The local National Guard and Army Reserves sponsored the activities along with Operation Homefront, which helps assists Michigan military families with various programs and assistance.

The evening’s events would begin with whittling the 31 car Auburn Hotel Bar and Grill Street Stocks down to the twenty that would start the special 29-lap $505 to win feature event.  Qualifying races were won by #27 Shawn O’Conner, #21JK John Krause, #10 Brent Reil, and #57 TJ Gilbert.  Two B-mains were run in order to lock in the remainder of the feature field.  Those events were captured by #06 James Prochaska and #7d Brenten DeYoung.  The much anticipated feature event was led to the green flag by #34 Jerry Oatley and #8s Aaron Spearling.  However, by the time the first lap was completed, second row starter Gilbert found himself leading the field.  He would pace the first fourteen laps until Sand Lake driver #55 Mike Vandermark Jr took charge.  He looked like the car to beat as he extended his lead by over five car lengths before mechanical woes caused him to drive off of turn four and retire from the event.  This handed the lead to long time TCSM supporter Krause Jr.  Once they went back to the green, his long time competitor and 2011 SS champion #7r Dave Newcomb took to the bottom of the track and started an eleven lap battle with Krause.  They would swap the lead at just about every corner during those eleven laps before Krause was able edge Newcomb at the line for his first oval victory of the season (he had won the figure 8 feature in May). Gilbert would finish third with point’s leader #21d Darren Mularz fourth and John Krause fifth.

Eighteen PRW Late Models took the green flag for the A-main.  Pole sitter #04 Wade Witherspoon ran torrid laps of sub fourteen second laps in an attempt to outrun the field.  He would be the class of the field for the opening six laps before the 2011 LM champion #72 Kyle Borgman took over and held that lead until lap twelve.  Fifth place starter, #6r Carl Ries found a line that he like around the bottom of the speedway and made his way by Borgman to lead the final twelve laps and grab his first feature of the win in a race that was not slowed by a caution.  Borgman, last week’s winner, would have to settle for the runner-up spot while #0p Kris Patterson Jr., Ohio driver #77k Steve Kester,, and #20d Dan Delong completed the top five.  Kester, Patterson, and #55 Roger Wing would take heat race gold.

A field of nineteen J&L Transport IMCA Modified cars were led to the green flag by #27 Matt Szecsodi and #11 Chaz Pray.  Pray, having one of his best runs of the season, looked as if he would be able to capture his first victory of 2012. He was able to hold off strong bids for the top spot by some of the strongest competition in the state for the first ten laps.  Pray, however, would surrender the lead to Midland native #26 Tom Sova.  Sova, who had family in from Denmark, led the final nine circuits to claim his second feature win of the season.  #19f Joe Fowler, winner of the last two features, picked up the second spot.  Point’s leader #EZ1 Don Hintz, #20w AJ Ward, and #7d Myron Deyoung were third through fifth.  The heat races, ran earlier, were won by Szecsodi, #42 Craig Vance, and M. Deyoung.

The final feature of the night was the Elgin Pro Stock twenty lap main event.  #27 Rob Westergard and #66 Rick Trewartha would lead the fifteen car field to the green flag.  Trewartha, who had a strong run earlier in his heat, would lead the opening three laps before #44 Jeff Haley took over.  Haley, who had crunched the nose of his machine in an earlier incident looked as if the car started to lose its handling as #M65 Rick Spencer tracked Haley down and made the winning pass on lap thirteen.  Spencer took his second feature win of the year and put himself in command of the Pro Stock point standings.  #41 JC Witherspoon, Haley, #01 Randy Radabaugh, and Trewartha finished in the top five.  Spencer and rookie driver #11 Chris Peyerk brought home heat race checkered flags.

Next week, our four regular divisions (LM, IMCA, PS, SS) will be in action along with part two of the Mini Sprint Triple Crown Series.  In addition, it is Michigan Auto Racing Fan Club Night.  Fan Club members that bring their membership card will receive free general admission.  Gates open at 5pm, hot laps at 6:45pm, Beat the Track Record at 7:30pm and racing at 7:55pm.  If you can’t make it, follow all the results via Twitter at or on our Tri City Motor Speedway Facebook page!!!  Also, for more information regarding drivers or the 2012 schedule, you can find us at !  Got Dirt?  Get it this season at the New Tri City Motor Speedway!!!