RSS Facebook YouTube

Koczenasz Captures First Feature Win at Tri-City Motor Speedway

By admin | 23 August 2014 | Headlines | | 0 Comments   

Koczenasz Captures First Feature Win at Tri-City Motor Speedway


08/22/2014 (Auburn MI) Saganing Eagles Landing Casino of Standish was back as the primary sponsor of Power Ball night at Tri-City Motor Speedway this past Friday.  A spectator had an opportunity to win $114 if they were holding the tennis ball that had the Late Model Feature winner’s car number on it.  In addition, the Comp Cam Late Models were going after a $1438 top prize for winning the 38-lap feature.  This would also be the final night of points before the Season Championships that will be held next Friday night.


Another stacked field of 17 Comp Cams Late Model drivers took to the lightning fast track for their 38-lap feature.  Earlier, #0x Zach Olger, 6m Dona Marcoullier, #6r Carl Ries had won heat races earlier in the night to become favorites for the main event.  Olger would shoot out to the lead.  He would lead the first 26 laps before Marcoullier, from his 11th place starting spot, would track down Olger and capture his third feature win in a row.  Olger would have to settle for second and was followed by #117 Kevin Reeve, #0p Kris Patterson Jr., and #75 Rod Laney.

#28 Jarred Rizer has really turned it on by capitalizing on #7r Dave Newcomb’s blown motor a couple of weeks ago.  With two wins by #28 Rizer the past two weeks, he has kept Newcomb behind him in the Auburn Hotel Street Stocks point race with two nights remaining.  The 20 lap feature saw Newcomb starting in front of Rizer at the drop of the green flag.#11b Jeff Brush would lead early before #8 Aaron Spearling took his turn at the lead.  On lap 10, Newcomb became the new leader and had his hands full trying to keep Rizer behind him.  Eventually, Rizer would prove to be took much as he would wrestle the lead away and pick up his third feature in a row.  Newcomb finished second and was followed by #88w Jim Miller, #57 TJ Gilbert, and #73tr Kyle Reilly.  Spearling, Miller, and #18L Joe Cunningham were the rest of the top 5.


The Elgin Pro Stock Division Championship is all but wrapped up for #21 Steven Hilliker.  However, he was unable to avoid a skirmish on the first lap which would puncture his radiator and take him out of the race.  #35 Bob Fetters Sr led early before Bridgeport driver, #71 Timmy Near took over.  Once Near jumped out front, he would cruise to an easy victory over #M65 Rick Spencer, #3 Loren Short, #100 Gary Shank Jr, and #03w JC Witherspoon. Near, Hilliker, and Witherspoon was also heat race winners.

There were no surprises in the Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA Modified division as #20 AJ Ward picked up his ninth feature win of the season to cement his bid on the 2014 Championship.  He was able to overcome #42 Craig Vance, #4s Toby Steele, #27 Matt Szecsodi, and #70 Scott Dann.  #03 Chris Cohoon and #511 Chaz Pray.


The Steven’s Cycle Sales and Service V6 Stock Bomber division has developed into some exciting racing as the class continues to grow.  With this being a stock class, the feature race was run in the opposite direction from the traditional counter-clockwise rotation.  With the drivers not knowing which direction they will be racing, it deters drivers from trying non-stock racing set-ups to turn left only.  # 52 Richard Shuler would win is heat race and start on the front row for the feature.  #74 Andre Bergevin would lead the opening laps before #K11 Kendall Morrison would challenge for the top spot.  Contact would send Morrison to the rear.  Bergevin would reinherit the lead until #21 Andy Koczenasz took the lead via the inside line and cruise on to capture his first ever feature win at TCMS.  Bergevin, #99 Dustin Beauchamp, Morrison, and #65 Garrett Laudenslager finished within the top five.
Next Friday night is our Season Championships!  We will crown our 2014 track Champions in all of our racing classes including Late Models, IMCA Modifieds, Street Stocks, Pro Stocks and V6 Bombers.  Mark your calendars for Friday and Saturday September 5th and 6th for the 4th annual Battle By The Bay!!  The Outlaw Late Models are a part of the racing program!!  Check out for more information regarding the remaining schedule, including details about Battle By the By, updated points, and results. Don’t forget that you can download our brand-new Smartphone app!!! Search “Tri City Motor Speedway” or “Tri City Racetrack” in your App Store and download this free app to receive access to instant updates, schedule information, results, points and more!!

08/22/2014 Saganing Eagles Landing Casino Winners:

Comp Cams Late Models: #6m Dona Marcoullier
8.22.14 Feature Winner Website-1







Auburn Hotel Bar and Grill Street Stocks: #28 Jared Rizer
8.22.14 Feature Winner Website-10







Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA Modified: #20w AJ Ward
8.22.14 Feature Winner Website-9







Elgin Pro Stocks: #71 Timmy Near
8.22.14 Feature Winner Website-14







Stevens Cycle Sales and Service V6 Stock Bombers: #21 Andy Koczenasz
8.22.14 Feature Winner Website-4