RSS Facebook YouTube

Matheson Wins First Dirt IMCA Modified Feature

By admin | 01 June 2014 | Headlines | | 0 Comments   

Matheson Wins First Dirt IMCA Modified Feature

5/30/2014 (Auburn MI) Sunshine rained down at the new Tri-City motor Speedway in Auburn this past Friday. With the sun baking the clay oval for the prior two days, it did not take long for the well watered track to become slick. The surface made it very challenging for its 85 competitors that came out the challenge the 3/8 oval. Handling and set-up prevailed over sheer horsepower for most of the nights races.

The Auburn Hotel Bar and Grill Street Stocks was the first 20-lap feature event on the speedway.# 51 Todd Winchell and #73TR Kyle Reilly led the field of 20 to the green flag. Both drivers are battled side-by-side for number of the opening laps before Riley finally took over the top spot. Meanwhile, last week’s winner #7r Dave Newcomb starting in the 12th position, began making his way through traffic by using the slick track to his advantage. He would make the winning pass for the lead coming out of turn four and never looked back claiming his second featuring of 2014. The 2011 champion was followed by current point leader #09 Derrick Crandall, #28 Jared Rizer, Reilly, and #8 Aaron Spearling. Heat races were won by Newcomb, Reilly, and Crandall.

With 15 Michigan track championships already under #21 Steve Hilliker’s belt, it is no surprise that this veteran driver has already captured a pair of feature wins to open the season at TCMS. His vast experience showed that, no matter the track conditions, he was going to be one to beat in 2014. #18RL Rodney Lathram and #3 Lauren short brought the field of 19 cars to the green flag in the Elgin Pro Stock feature. Breath taking two and three-wide racing between Short, #71 Timmy Near , Lathram, #M65 Rick Spencer, and Hilliker thrilled the crowd for the majority of the event. Alas, it was Hilliker making a bold move at lap number eight to take over the lead. This would be the final pass of the event as he would take his third feature win in the row. Undefeated for 2014, Hilliker was followed by Near, Short, two time defending champion Spencer, and #31 Bill Fetters. It was Near and Short in victory lane for their heat race wins.

Steven’s brother #21 David Hilliker looked like he could possibly make it a Hilliker evening sweep as he had already picked up a heat race win in the Comp Cam Late Model division. Eric Spangler had picked up the second heat race. For the 25-lap feature # 11L Ryan Lanphierd and #99 Scotty Armstrong would lead a strong field of eighteen to the green flag. However, it was Kevin Reeve in from inside the second row that took the lead away from Lanphierd early. He would motor his way to his second TCMS feature win in a row. The Hanover native, who had difficulty finding victory Lane in 2013, cruised into victory lane by almost a half lap over Hilliker, #0X Zach Olger, #24 Alex Hupert, and Spangler.

Over the past four years, many former pavement drivers have made the switch the dirt racing in order to run at TCMS. In the Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA modified class, many of those drivers have been looking for that same success they once had on the asphalt surface. #33 Todd Matheson was one of those drivers with many track championships on his resume. He was finally got the monkey off his back by picking up a hard fought 20-lap feature win. Dirt veterans #7D Myron DeYoung, #42 Craig Vance, #20W AJ Ward all made runs for the top spot but none were able to make the move on the Clio native. Matheson was followed by points leader and defending champion Ward, # 42 Vance, #72 Terry Gittens, and #T1 John Taylor. DeYoung and Ward picked up heat race wins earlier in the evening.

The final event of the evening was the most anticipated race of the night. It was the first race of a three -race series for the figure 8 drivers. Nine cars would take the green flag and it looked like #51 Todd Winchell was going to run away with the feature event. However, by the halway point of the 18 laps, an issue caused him to sporadically lose power and eventually he would have had to drop out of the event. This handed the lead to #0 Ray Derminer. Derminer, who had won the third Figure 8 race in 2013, would not be denied his second Figure 8 feature win. He was closely followed by #8 Aaron Spearling, #0 Randy Radabaugh, #18 Fred Dow, and #12 Eric Lake.

Next week at the Tri-City motor Speedway it’s kids night and autograph night. Bring the kids out as those 6 years of age and under receive free general admission. 7 to 13 year-olds get in for just $1!! There will also be an autograph session with all of our drivers from 7:30 to 8:15. There will be lots of goodies and giveaways for the kids, so bring them along and enjoy a night of fantastic racing action a Tri-City motor Speedway. Late Models, Elgin Pro Stocks, IMCA Modifieds, Street Stocks, and the V6 Stock Bombers will be back to compete on the 3/8ths clay oval. . Also, mark your calendars for the 4-year anniversary of the clay surface with the Greased Pig 4.0 on June 13th!! IMCA modified will go after a $1013 top prize in the 31 lap feature event!! Check out for more information or download our brand-new smart phone app!!! Search “Tri City Motor Speedway” or “Tri City Racetrack” in your App Store and download that free app to receive access to instant updates, information, and more!!

05/30/2014 Graff Chevrolet of Bay City Winners:

Comp Cams Late Models: #117 Kevin Reeve
5.30.2014 Feature Winner Website-3


Auburn Hotel Bar and Grill Street Stocks: #7r Dave Newcomb.
5.30.2014 Feature Winner Website-6


Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA Modified: #33 Todd Matheson
5.30.2014 Feature Winner Website-4


Elgin Pro Stocks: #21 Steven Hilliker

5.30.2014 Feature Winner Website-7


Figure 8: #0 Ray Derminer
5.30.2014 Feature Winner Website-5