RSS Facebook YouTube

Newland Dominates at Tri-City Motor Speedway.

By admin | 11 June 2012 | Headlines | | 0 Comments   

06/08/12 WINNERS:

PRW Late Models: #55 Roger Wing

J&L Transport IMCA Modified: #78 Brody Bowser

Auburn Hotel Street Stock: #21d Darren Mularz

Elgin Pro Stocks: #54 Chaney Newland

Stock 4Cyl Rockets- #7g Tyler Morell


Newland Dominates at Tri-City Motor Speedway.


06/08/12 (Auburn MI)   Friday Night at Tri-City Motor Speedway say eighty-six competitors try to earn top spots in their feature events.  The track was ready and poised providing three and four wide racing throughout the night.  In addition, Kids night, presented Weiland Contracting of Kawkawlin, was made up from the prior week’s rained out show. Eight lucky young fans received bikes courtesy of Weiland Contracting, Zilwaukee Motors, Dornbros Printing, and Spencer’s Auto.  In addition, all fans were treated to an autograph session with all the drivers on the track during intermission.

The evening was kicked off with a wheelie competition.  Drivers had the opportunity to come out on the track and sustain a wheelie for as long as they could.  The fans got the opportunity to choose the winner.  #776k Ken Zeiger, in his IMCA modified, was chosen as the winner with #78 Brody Bowser as the runner-up.

The Elgin Pro Stocks were the featured class with a special 39 lap feature and the opportunity to create a new track record.  The track record money had rolled over from the last event.  Therefore, the driver that could obtain the quickest lap of the night AND beat the track record would receive $300. Riverdale driver, #94 Chad Raby would best the old track record by three tenths of a second with a time of 15.070.  His lap was a pretty good indication of what fans were to expect for the evenings race program.  For the $757 to win feature, #11 Chris Peyerk and #66t Rick Trewartha would bring the field to the green flag.  The rookie, Peyerk took charge of the field for the first handful of laps before #M65 Rick Spencer made the pass, via the inside lane, for the lead.  Spencer was looking to make it two feature wins in a row, but a couple of drivers that have found great success at TCMS, #54 Chaney Newland and #94 Raby were patiently working their way through the twenty car field.  Shortly before the half-way point, Newland grabbed the lead from Spencer.  A few laps later, Raby was able to snatch second from Spencer.  Newland started pulling away from the group, leaving Raby, Spencer and #76 Vern Buskirk to fight for podium finishes.  A long green flag run put lapped cars in the midst of drivers fighting for position.  Newland’s lead grew to nearly a half lap while Raby, Buskirk and Spencer were stuck in a group of lapped cars which made for some two and three-wide racing.  Eventually, Spencer would get into one of the lapped cars and cause a caution, which would bunch the field for a one lap shootout.  Spencer would go to the tail of the field, but with only five cars on the lead lap, this would move Spencer back to fifth place.  Newland was able to hold off Raby on the final lap dash and pick up the feature win. Raby, Buskirk, #24 Don Rohn, and Spencer would complete the top five.  Spencer, Newland, and Raby also won heats earlier in the evening.

Ten PRW Late model drivers were led to the green flag by rookies #112 Jason Borton and  (#00) Brock Kamlay.  Kamlay was strong enough to lead the first lap, but recent high school graduate #24 Alex Hupert took over the lead by lap two.  He was able to lead his first Late Model laps before he was tracked down by #75 Rod Laney.   Laney looked like he was going to be on his way to a feature win.  But once it looked like Laney was going to get away, #55 Roger Wing, who started 10th,  gobbled up that huge Laney lead and made a strong move to the inside of turn four and cruised to victory for the second time this season.  Defending champion #72 Kyle Borgman would have to settle for second.  #0p Kris Patterson Jr, #6r Carl Ries, and Hupert would make up the rest of the top five.  Patterson and #15 Justin McNeil Captured heat race wins.

The front wheel drive Stock Rockets had increased in numbers for this week. #7 Tyler Morell and #18 Chris Barrons led the field of six to the green flag.  The first few laps were pretty exciting as heat race winner #95 Duane Winchel would try to go three wide with the front row starters.  This caused contact between him and Barrons.  Both would retire from the event as the immediately cut each other’s tires.  This handed the lead over to Morell and he handily beat the rest of the field to the checkered flag.  #99 Dustin Beauchamp would finish second and #97 Cheyanne Harrington would take third.

A season high twenty-nine J&L Transport IMCA Modifieds were on hand in preparation for next week’s big $1212 Greased Pig 2.0.  The four heats locked in four drivers from each race to the feature.  Those heats were won by #42m Dan Minikey,  #78 Brody Bowser, #7d Myron Deyoung, and #EZ1 Don Hintz.  The B-main locked in the final four feature starters.  That race was won by #776k Ken Zeigler.  The twenty lap feature already promised to be a highly anticipated one as #W3 of Jim Wolfe and defending champion #111 Josh Borton brought the tough field to the start of the event.  Borton was strong early as he led the first half of the race.  However, ninth place starter, Bowser was able to get his car to work anywhere on the track and took over the lead with about eight laps remaining and held on to take his first feature win of 2012.  Hintz moved from his tenth place starting spot to finish runner-up.  Borton would have to settle for third.  He was followed by #7m Johnny DeYoung and #19f Joey Fowler.

Twenty-two seems to be the magic number for the Auburn Hotel Street Stock car counts as it was the second consecutive week that we have had that many competitors in this class.  The feature field was led to the green flag led by former Spartan Speedway Champion #8 Aaron Spearling (who also ran another car in the Pro Stocks) and asphalt driver #31r Bob Robinson.  Spearling, who had his best outing of the year so far, led a number of laps early before settling on a strong sixth place finish.  If you were picking drivers to finish in the top five, you had to look pretty deep in the field at the start to find them.  Drivers were making bold three and four wide moves to get to the front by the end of twenty laps.  Tenth place starter, #21d Darren Mularz was able to make all the moves and keep the equipment together to grab his first feature win of 2012.  #38 Corey Lipe had to get into the feature via the B-main and started 18th ended up finishing second.  #7g Dan Krause, who  had been involved in numerous incidents in the feature ended up salvaging a third place finish.  B-main winner #51 Todd Winchell and #75 Kenny Keller Jr picked up the rest of the top five.  Krause, #15.2 Joe Cunningham, and #27 Shawn O’Conner were victorious in their heat races.


Next week, our four regular divisions (LM, IMCA, PS, SS) will be back in action for the Greased Pig 2.0.  In addition, it is our Father’s Day weekend special.  Dad will get in for half price with a paid child’s admission!  The J&L Transport IMCA Modifieds will be the spotlight as they try to beat the track record.  Again, $1212 is on the line for the 42-lap feature along with a spot on the IMCA All Star Ballot.  Gates open at 5pm, hot laps at 6:45pm, Beat the Track Record at 7:30pm and racing at 7:55pm.  If you can’t make it, follow all the results via Twitter at !  Also, for more information regarding drivers or the 2012 schedule, you can find us at !  Got Dirt?  Get it this season at the New Tri City Motor Speedway!!!