RSS Facebook YouTube

Olger Dominates Third Annual Battle By The Bay At Tri-City Motor Speedway

By admin | 09 September 2013 | Headlines | | 1 Comment   

09/07/2013 (Auburn MI)   Midland Nazarene Church sponsored the third annual Battle By The Bay at the clay oval at Tri-City Motor Speedway.  With increased purses for the competing division, some of the best drivers in Michigan and the Midwest made their way to Auburn to try and come away with the Battle By The Bay Title. Wet weather earlier in the day helped create a lightning fast racing surface for the 135 drivers and a highly competitive show for the spectators.

One of the big stories of the weekend was the possibility of #2k Aaron Morey trying to win the third race of the OMP Modified series.  If he could win the 38-lap feature, not only would the race pay $2081 to win, but there would be a bonus that would pay a cool $3333.  40 modified drivers were in the field to capture the eighteen coveted feature spots.  #6m Dona Marcoullier, #82 Jacob Poel, #2 Travis Stemler, and #77 Joe Rokos were heat race winners. #43a Mark Anderson and #91 Adam Thrush conquered their B-mains.  #1e Jeff Erickson and #19b Chad Bauer led the field to the green flag.  Bauer would lead the opening lap, but it was a pair of drivers that were pulling double-duty by running in the Late Model Class and the modified division, Marcoullier and track champion #0x Zach Olger.  A caution after the first lap would end up causing mechanical issues on the Morey machine which would eventually retire him from the event with a seventeenth place finish.  Once under way, Marcoullier would take the lead on the second lap from his second row starting position.  However, that lead would be short lived as Olger would take the lead on lap seven.  He would never be challenged after that and cruised to the victory.  #2 Travis Stemler would finish a distant second, but captured the OMP points championship. Marcoullier, #39 Chad Spencer, and Erickson completed the top five.

Marcoullier and Olger would dual again in the Tri-City Furniture Late Model Division earlier in the evening.  Both drivers, along with #00 Chris Keller, would win their heat race earlier in the evening.  Olger would start the 33-lap feature from the front row alongside #51 Devin Shiels.  Olger would find himself battling a tight condition in turn two of the first lap that caused contact with Marcoullier and #5 Brook Brasington.  The contact was enough to knock both drivers from the event early.  On the restart, Olger was able to jump out in front and was never challenged as he cruised to another feature win on the evening. Shiels, Keller, #M14 Brandon Thirlby, and #24 Alex Hupert took top five finishes.  #1 Greg Gokey won the B-main.

The Auburn Hotel Street Stocks class had 31 drivers attempt to make the feature event.  #7d Brenten Deyoung, #3 Loren Short, #28 Jared Rizer, and #75 Kenny Keller won the heat races.  The B-main victors were #09 Derek Crandel and #15 Mike Vandermark.  Short would jump out ahead of pole sitter #73tr Kyle Reilly and lead the first half dozen laps.  #7d Brenten Deyoung would wrestle the lead away from Short as they would challenge each other through each corner through the remainder of the feature.  Short, who said that he had lost his brakes by lap five, would make an aggressive pass in turn four coming to the white flag, and held on for the win over DeYoung.  The rest of the top five were Crandel, Rizer, and #32 Steven Ulman.

One of the highest anticipated matchups was in the Auburn Food Centre Pro Stock Division.  Former Midwest Racing Scene driver of the week #18 Don Rohn made his first appearance of the season at TCMS.  He wasted no time proving that he was ready to tackle the clay by winning his heat race.  #44 Blake Hollenbeck, and #77k Kevin Morell were also victorious in their preliminary heat race.  #40 Ron Bieri and #B76 Chaney Newland got into the feature by winning their B-main.  As the feature event started making its way onto the track, rain fell from the sky and caused about a 45 minute delay and changed the track conditions.  Once the track was prepped and ready for completion #44 Jeff Haley and #14 Nate Jones brought the field of cars to the green flag.  Jones led the opening three laps before Rohn made the pass for the lead.  A number of cautions plagued the event and allowed #21 Steve Hilliker and #71 Timmy Near to have an opportunity to challenge for the top spot.  The five laps proved to be a barn-burner as Near and Hilliker would both have opportunities to take the lead away.  However, in the end, Rohn was able to hold off both drivers and pick up his first TCMS win.  Hilliker and Near would take the top three spots.  Jones and #M65 Rick Spencer would complete the top five.

#13 Derek Poland swept the events for the Wackerly Pharmacy Open Street Stock division.  He held off a hard charging #65 William Brandt and Mount Pleasant champion #44f Josh Frye to pick up the feature win.  #44 Michael Essex and #75s Kevin Strong managed to finish in the top five.

The final event of the 2013 season will take place on Saturday September 21st with the Season Championship for the Sprints on Dirt as well as for the Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA Modifieds.  This season ending event will also include Auburn Hotel Street Stocks and the return of the Pro Trucks. General Admission for adults $16, 55 and better $15, 7-13 year olds $8, 6 years and under FREE! The first race will be on the track at 6:45.  For more information regarding this show, visit our website !  It’s your last chance this year to come see what everyone is talking about at the Tri-City Motor Speedway!!!

09/07/2013 Midland Nazarene Church Battle By The Bay WINNERS:

Tri-City Furniture Late Models: #0x Zach Olger
9-7-13 Late Model Zach Olger 600x400

K&C Transport OMP Modifieds: #0x Zach Olger
9-7-13 OMP Modified Zach Olger 600x400

Auburn Food Centre Pro Stocks: #18 Don Rohn
9-7-13 Pro Stock Don Rohn 600x400

Wackerly Pharmacy Open Street Stocks: #13 Derek Poland
9-7-13 Open Street Stock Derek Poland

Auburn Hotel Bar and Grill Street Stocks: #3 Loren Short
8.16.2013 Feature Winner Website-9