RSS Facebook YouTube

Olger Finally Back In Victory Lane at Tri-City Motor Speedway

By admin | 07 July 2014 | Headlines | | 0 Comments   

Olger Finally Back In Victory Lane at Tri-City Motor Speedway


07/04/2014 (Auburn MI) The 238th birthday of the United States was celebrated with high-speed action this past Friday night or Mid-Season Championship night at Tri-City Motor Speedway.  The 88 cars in the pits were complimented with a capacity crowd in the grandstands all to enjoy the holiday weekend.  The drivers did not disappoint those in attendance as they put on races that all seemed to come down to the final laps to determine the victors.


#0x Zach Olger, after coming off of a season in which he claimed nearly 20 feature wins, has had many struggles to start the 2014 season at TCMS.  His consistency has kept him atop of the the Comp Cam Late Model points standings, but he was still void of a feature win in his championship defending season.  Olger would win the dash while heat races went to #117 Kevin Reeve, #27s Eric Spangler, and #21 David Hilliker.  In the feature, #16s Mike Staszak would lead the first three laps after starting on the pole.  On lap four, Reeve would take over the point and try to pull away from the stout field of drivers.  However, in the closing laps, lapped traffic would slow down his hard charge and allowed Olger to make the move on the bottom to make the final lead change.  He would go on to victory beating #0p Kris Patterson Jr., Reeve, Hilliker, and Spangler.


Steven’s Cycle Sales and Service Stock Bombers has been dominated by young #K11 of Kendall Morrison.  Things looked as if the streak of being undefeated could snap as #99 Dustin Beauchamp would win the dash and #09 Jack Freese picked up the heat win.  In the feature, however, Morrison would not be denied another trip to Victory Lane as he cruised to victory beating out Freese, #65 Garrett Laudenslager, Beauchamp, and #52 Richard Shuler.
After winning the first three Elgin Pro Stock features to start the 2014 season, #21 Steven Hilliker has struggled somewhat with just runner-up finishes in the past few weeks behind a surging #3 Loren Short.  #03 JC Witherspoon picked up wins in the dash and his heat and looked like maybe he would be the one to watch. #53 Shane Aeshlimann, who won his heat, would start on the front row of the feature along with #100 of Gary Shank.  Shank, still suffering from a bent frame on his race car, was able to lead the first 12 laps of the main event before #99 Rick Beauchamp, who also won his heat, would take the point.  However, it would be short lived as #3 Loren Short would ride the rim to the win.  Hilliker would get his third runner-up finish in a row.  #93 John Robbins started seventeenth and drove up to third and was followed by #M65 Rick Spencer and #40 Ron Bieri.  #10b Joe Batts captured the B-main win.
Heat Race winners in the Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA Modified division were #19f Joe Fowler, #36 Rich Young, and points leader and defending champion #20w AJ Ward.  Ward has strung up a number of victories that has included the prestigious Greased Pig 4.0 and last week’s controversial feature.  #77x Jimmy Hale Jr led the first three laps before Stanton driver #7d Myron DeYoung took over.  He would lead until the caution flag flew on lap 17.  On the restart, Ward made a bold move out of turn two and launched him from fourth to the lead position.  Ward would once again capture the checkered flag in another exciting race.  Deyoung, Fowler, #511 Chaz Pray, and #26 Tom Sova filled in the top five spots.
The final feature of the night was the Auburn Hotel Bar and Grill Street Stock Main Event.  #8 Aaron Spearling has been on the cusp of winning his first dirt feature in the past few weeks.  On this day, Spearling would win the dash and his heat and looked like he was poised for that first feature win.  #51 Todd Winchell was looking to turn his luck around as he led the field to the initial green flag and led a number of laps before being challenged by defending champion #75 Kevin Strong.  Strong would take the lead and immediately go to the bottom groove.  Spearling was able to get up front and continued to pester the top spot before a flat right rear would send him into the pits and ending his opportunity to go after the win.  Strong would take the checkered flag followed by #7r Dave Newcomb, #12 Eric Lake, #95 Shane Wright, and Winchell.  Strong and #73tr Kyle Reilly would also win their heat races.
Next week at the Tri-City Motor Speedway is Police and Firefighter appreciation night.  Bring your ID and get your general admission ticket absolutely free.  In addition, it is also Michigan Auto Racing Fan Club Night. All members that bring their show their membership card at the main gate will also receive a free pass to enjoy the show.  If that wasn’t enough to bring you to the track, the Street Stocks will be racing for a top prize of $543 in a 34-lap feature.  Pizza Races courtesy of The Pizza Dude will also take place.  Be sure to mark your calendar on Saturday July 12th and Sunday July 13th as the AMA District 14 Motorcycle and ATV Riders will invade the 3/8th’s mile clay oval!!   The final appearance in 2014 at TCMS for the Sprints on Dirt will take place on Friday, July 18th.  Check out for more information or download our brand-new Smartphone app!!! Search “Tri City Motor Speedway” or “Tri City Racetrack” in your App Store and download this free app to receive access to instant updates, schedule information, results, points and more!!

07/04/2014 Mid Season Championship Winners:

Comp Cams Late Models: #0x Zach Olger
7.4.2014 Feature Winner Website-2







Auburn Hotel Bar and Grill Street Stocks: #75s Kevin Strong
7.4.2014 Feature Winner Website-24







Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA Modified: #20w AJ Ward
7.4.2014 Feature Winner Website-19







Elgin Pro Stocks: #3 Loren Short
7.4.2014 Feature Winner Website-15







Steven’s Cycle Sales & Service Stock Bombers: #K11 Kendall Morrison
7.4.2014 Feature Winner Website-9