RSS Facebook YouTube

Sova “Lights” up field in Greased Pig 2.0 at TCMS

By admin | 18 June 2012 | Headlines | | 0 Comments   

06/15/12 WINNERS:

PRW Late Models: #55 Roger Wing

J&L Transport IMCA Modified: #26 Tom Sova

Auburn Hotel Street Stock: #10 Brent Reil

Elgin Pro Stocks: #80 Nate Jones


Sova “Lights” up field in Greased Pig 2.0 at TCMS.


06/15/12 (Auburn MI)   Tri City Motor Speedway packed the house as they celebrated their first year anniversary with the Greased Pig 2.0 for the J&L Transport IMCA modified drivers.  In addition, the PRW Late Models, Auburn Hotel Street Stocks, and the Elgin Pro Stocks were part of the billing.  Ninety-two drivers brought their equipment to compete in front of another packed house at the Auburn speed plant.

The J&L Transport IMCA modified drivers were the first to take the track with the opportunity to beat the track record for the IMCA class.  Point leader, #EZ1 Don Hintz shattered the former record of 15.021 seconds with a lap of 14.656.  This one fast lap earned him $200 before the actual racing even began!  Four heat races helped determine the first sixteen drivers to lock into the twenty car field that would race for the top prize of $1212.00.  Those heats were won by #7d Myron Deyoung, defending points champion #111 Josh Borton, #776 Rusty Zeigler, and #11 Chaz Pray.  Two B-mains were run to determine the final four starters for the big forty-two lap feature.  Those were captured by #42 Dan Minikey Jr. and #24s Jack Sharp.  Cautions plagued the initial starts of the feature event as the track had changed considerably from the earlier heat races.  It was quickly realized that the two grooves were at the very top and the very bottom of the track.  #14 Chris Barton would lead a handful of the opening laps.  Borton took the lead away from Barton and looked like he was going to run away with the feature before Hintz ran him down from the high side of the track.  The fast qualifier, Hintz, and Borton ran almost seven laps swapping the lead position at various points around the speedway.  As this was happening #19f Joe Fowler and sixteenth place starter #26 Tom Sova were methodically moving toward the front.  After an incident that brought the caution out at lap 33, Sova was able to make a move to the bottom that Hintz could not overcome.  Sova held Hintz off to take a surprise victory and capture the biggest win of the Midland native’s career.  Hintz would have to finish second followed by Fowler, Deyoung, and #20 AJ Ward.

A full field of twenty PRW Late model drivers were led to the green flag by rookies #7f Brad Finkbeiner and #20 Dan Delong.  This feature was also plagued by early lap cautions before the field finally settled down to take a long green flag run. Delong, #15 Justin McNeill, and #001 Joe Hanson were dicing it up battling for the lead.  However, as the TCMS fans have been accustomed to, #55 Roger Wing powered his way from the eighth starting spot to take the lead with eight laps remaining.  It looked like Wing was going to run away with another feature win.   However, lapped traffic made it interesting and allowed McNeill to take one last stab at the lead and the win.  But Wing nipped McNeill at the line by inches to pick up his second feature in a row. #0x Zach Olger, Delong, and #23v Ryan Vanderveen completed the top five.  Olger, McNeill, and #0jr Kris Patterson were victorious in their heats.

#21k James King and #10 Brent Reil brought the twenty-four Auburn Hotel Street Stocks to the start of their feature.  Most of the field tried to use the low and middle line, but Reil took an immediate liking to the rim of the track.  He did not stray from the top line and was able to hold off the field and perservere through numerous cautions to his first TCMS feature win.  Owendale champ, #38 Corey Lipe finished in the runner-up spot.  King, defending champion #7r Dave Newcomb and #96r Ricky Smith were the top five finishers.  Heats run earlier were won by #27 Shawn O’Conner, Newcomb, and #7g Dan Krause Jr.

Another messy set of starts to the Elgin Pro Stock feature had the field start single file and led by rookie #11 Chris Peyerk.  Peyerk would struggle with the set up for the slick track and concede the lead to #01 Randy Radabaugh.  Radabaugh had a firm grip on the bottom of the track and was proving to be tough to beat.  #80 Nate Jones spent nineteen of the twenty lap feature riding the tip top of the track in a great side-by-side battle with #m65 Rick Spencer.  Both kept Radabaugh within their reach.  On the final set of corners, Jones pulled down to the bottom.  Radabaugh gave Jones just enough room to steal the win away from him at the line. Spencer took third and was followed by #94 Chad Raby and #77 Kevin Morell.  Defending champion #40 Ron Bieri, Raby, and Jones took heat gold.

Next week, our four regular divisions (LM, IMCA, PS, SS) will be back in action for the American Cancer Society/ Relay For Life night.  A portion of the proceeds will donated to these fine charities.  Gates open at 5pm, hot laps at 6:45pm, Beat the Track Record at 7:30pm and racing at 7:55pm.  If you can’t make it, follow all the results via Twitter at !  Also, for more information regarding drivers or the 2012 schedule, you can find us at !  Got Dirt?  Get it this season at the New Tri City Motor Speedway!!!