RSS Facebook YouTube

Sprints On Dirt Champion, Daggett, Wins at Tri-City Motor Speedway

By admin | 23 September 2013 | Headlines | | 0 Comments   

Sprints On Dirt Champion, Daggett, Wins at Tri-City Motor Speedway

09/21/2013 (Auburn MI)   Cool temperatures and wet weather late in the week helped to groom the clay and insure a fast racing surface for Tri-City Motor Speedway.  The season closing event for 2013 hosted the Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt season championship along with the Season Championship for the Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA Modifieds.  Ferrea Racing Components sponsored the evening that also included Pro Trucks and Auburn Hotel Street Stocks.

The hot lap session before the evenings events had lap times for the SOD almost cracking the 10-second As the Sprints on Dirt were in their preliminary heats races, it was announced that the #2m of Dustin Daggett would be the Champion for 2013, making him a four time champion in that series.  Daggett would win that heat race, with #81 John Gall #10a Jay Steinbach also winning their respective heat races.  The 25-lap feature would showcase Daggett’s open wheel talent as it took him no time to take over the top spot.  He would spend the majority of the race weaving in and out of slow traffic on his way to the win.  #49t Greg Dalmann won the dash.

The Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA modified division championship was locked up by the end of August, as #20w AJ Livewire Ward claims his first TCMS championship.  He was also in a battle for another championship at Crystal Motor Speedway the prior week.  Although he ended that bid as a runner-up, he was a car to watch as he had to start near the rear of the 20-car, 23-lap feature. #29 Jacob Bailey and #7d Myron Deyoung took heat race victories earlier in the evening.  Deyoung, fresh off  two victories last Saturday at CMS that netted him $3800, was looking to continue his streak in September.  He took over the lead on lap three from #98 Austin Wonch and was able to survive a number of cautions to take the lion’s share of the Modified purse.  Deyoung will finish the year as the runner-up in the championship chase.  #90v Robert Hudson, Ward, #4s Toby Steele, and #D42 Don Sauter finished the top five finishers.

2011 Late Model Champion, #72 Kyle Borgman has a number of cars in his arsenal that allows him to compete at different tracks with different classes.  This week, he brought his Pro Truck to TCMS.  The Muskegon driver swept both the heat and the feature events for the trucks.  #14 Nate Jones, #42jr Mike Nelson Jr., #23 Craig Foster, and #13 Brad Roberts crossed the finish within the top five.

The Auburn Hotel Street Stock saw the track at its absolute slickest as they came out for their feature after the SOD feature had been completed.  #7r Dave Newcomb and #09 Derek Crandall saw much more grip when they won their heat races. #73jr John Russell Jr would lead the opening lap, but found turn two to be slick and spun.  This handed the lead to Crandall.  A number of cautions on the restart prompted officials to line up the field single-file as opposed to the normal double-file restarts.  Once under green, Crandall was able to pull away from the field and looked well on his way to feature gold.  As the green flag run continued, Crandall’s motor started as if it was not running as well as it had earlier.  #1 Randy Radabaugh, running in second, was catching the race leader.  The race would be slowed by one more caution with six laps to go.  Crandall did not get a very good restart as Radabaugh would make the move to the inside and take the lead.  He would take the checkered flag with Crandall, #7d Brenten DeYoung, #21e Dan Engel, and #75ds Don Stuck completing the top five.

The Management of Tri-City Motor Speedway would like to thank all of the drivers, Sponsoring Partners, and, especially, the fans that have supported us in 2013.   Continue to visit website for updates throughout the off-season.  Also, visit us on Facebook!   We look forward to welcoming you back in April 2014 at Tri City Motor Speedway!!!

09/21/2013 Ferrea Racing Products Night Winners:

Auburn Hotel Bar and Grill Street Stocks: #1 Randy Radabaugh

Pro Trucks- #72 Kyle Borgman

Engine Pro Sprints On Dirt: #2m Dustin Daggett

Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA Modified: #7d Myron Deyoung