RSS Facebook YouTube

Steven Hilliker Dominates Old Timer’s Night at Tri-City Motor Speedway

By admin | 27 May 2014 | Headlines | | 0 Comments   

Steven Hilliker Dominates Old Timer’s Night at Tri-City Motor Speedway

5/23/2014 (Auburn MI)

The first beautiful Friday night of the race season helped kick off a holiday weekend at Auburn’s historic Tri-City Motor Speedway.  A capacity crowd witnessed some of the best dirt racing of the year which was also Old Timer’s Night.  Stories were swapped of the asphalt racing that was once showcased during the tracks long and prevalent history.  In honor of the nostalgic night, the heat races were replaced by Australian Pursuits, which used to be a part of a typical race program.  At Home Care for You LLC sponsored the evening events.


Before the nights regularly scheduled program could begin, The Elgin Pro Stocks needed to complete the rained-out feature that had been scheduled on Opening night, May 2nd.  #93 John Robbins and #44 Kevin Harder led the field to the long awaited 20-lap feature.  Robbins would take the early race lead and looked as if he might be well on his way to his first feature win.  He would lead the first 14 laps.  Robbins would see his lead evaporate due to some late race cautions.  This allowed Midland veteran driver, #21 Steven Hilliker, to overtake Robbins and pick up his first feature win of 2014.  Robbins would be forced to settle with the runner-up position.  #03w JC Witherspoon, #10v Gary Vandermark, and #31 Bill Fetters completed the top five.  Defending champion #M65 and #71 Timmy Near brought the field to the green in the second feature, but it was Hilliker, again, was able to maneuver from his 6th place starting position and take the lead.  With the race track much slicker than it had been in the first feature, Hillker found the right set-up and cruised his Stanford LP Gas, Hilliker Glass machine to victory lane for the second time of the night.  Spencer, Vandermark, Robbins, and Witherspoon finished in the top five.  Hilliker and Near were Pursuit winners.


The Auburn Hotel Bar and Grill Street Stocks had an attrition filled feature event that seemed as if the winner would be the one that could survive the full 20-laps without trouble.  #51 Todd Winchell and #73tr Kyle Reilly set the early pace of the feature race.  Reilly and #28 Jared Rizer would make heavy contact on the backstretch while battling for the top spot, which sent both cars off the track and Rizer hard into the water barrels.  Rizer, miraculously would be able to continue and would inherit the lead with Reilly forced to go to the tail of the field.  However, he was unable to hold off the 2011 champion #7r Dave Newcomb, who was able to perfectly work the bottom groove.  Newcomb would eventually take the checkered flag.  Rizer, with his battered up car, finished a close second.  The rest of the top five finishers included #09c Derek Crandell, #67 Ryan Fitzgerald, and #95w Shane Wright.  Reilly and #18d David Lester picked up pursuit gold.


With 2014 Comp Cam Late Model feature winners Dona Marcoullier and Jeep Van Wormer not in attendance; it assured that there would be a new winner in 2014.  Front row starters #11L Ryan Lanphierd and #117 Kevin Reeve took the field of 18 to the green flag in hope that this night would be their moment. It was the Hanover native, Reeve, which would lead the majority of the event, picking up his first ever Tri-City Motor Speedway feature win. He spent a majority of the race battling with 2013 Champion #0x Zach Olger and #24 Alex Hupert, who would finish second and third.  #21h David Hilliker and #0p Kris Patterson capped off the top five.  Olger and Reeve also dominated their Pursuit races.


Defending Champion, #20w AJ Ward had won both of the features run so far in the Main Street Seed & Supply IMCA division.  Ward would jump out as the favorite to win again Friday night as he picked up a nice payday for breaking the two year track record that had been set by former champion Don Hintz by over a half-second with a time of 14.149 seconds.  He would also dominate his heat race.  But, Ward would have his work cut out for him as he would start mid-pack in the feature event that would be led to the green by the other heat race winner #33 Todd Matheson and #21n Derick Neitling.  The outside line did not get a good start at the drop of the green and pushed Ward deeper into the field.  #72 Terry Gittins led opening laps before #7d Myron Deyoung would take charge of the field.  Eighth place starting #42 Craig Vance, who had been very pleased with the car the previous week, began to put the pressure on Deyoung with around six laps remaining.  Vance would be able to make the pass and cruise to his first victory of the season.  Deyoung, Ward, #4s Toby Steele, and Gittins crossed the stripe closely behind within the top five finishing spots.


In the Stevens Cycle Sales and Service Six-cylinder Bomber Stocks,  14 year-old #K11 Kendall Morrison has just about been unbeatable in the 2014 season with his 4-cylinder.  He dominated his Australian Pursuit earlier in the evening and it didn’t take long for him to put himself in the lead for the feature.  He would end up winning by over a half-lap ahead of #65 Garrett Laudenslager, #52 Richard Shuler, 99 Dustin Beauchamp, and #51 Joshua Englehardt.


Next weekend will feature the first leg of the 3-part Figure-8 season for the Street Stock type cars.  The top prize for the first driver to maneuver their way through the exciting intersection for 18 laps will win $418.  With this being such a popular event, you will want to get to the track early and claim you seat!!

Late Models, Elgin Pro Stocks, IMCA Modifieds, and Street Stocks, will be back to compete on the 3/8ths clay oval.  Race time is 7:55 PM.  Also, mark your calendars for Kids night on Friday June 6th!!  Bring the kids to meet their favorite drivers and receive autographs, prizes, and goodies!!!Check out for more information or download our brand-new smart phone app!!! Search “Tri City Motor Speedway” or “Tri City Racetrack” in your App Store and download that free app and receive access to instant updates, information, and more!!

05/23/2014 At Home Care For You LLC Winners:

Comp Cams Late Models: #117 Kevin Reeve
5.23.14 Feature Winner Website-15







Auburn Hotel Bar and Grill Street Stocks: #7r Dave Newcomb.
5.23.14 Feature Winner Website-30







Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA Modified: #42 Craig Vance

5.23.14 Feature Winner Website-10


Stevens Cycle Sales and Service 6cyl Bombers: #K11 Kendall Morrison

5.23.14 Feature Winner Website-22









Elgin Pro Stocks: #21 Steven Hilliker (Both Features)
5.23.14 Feature Winner Website-335.23.14 Feature Winner Website-4