RSS Facebook YouTube

Tony Stewart Surprises Crowd and Wins at Tri-City Motor Speedway

By admin | 20 July 2014 | Headlines | | 0 Comments   

Tony Stewart Surprises Crowd and Wins at Tri-City Motor Speedway


07/18/14 (Auburn MI) Clements Contracting night at Tri-City Motor Speedway was anything but another ordinary night with the Sprints On Dirt. Those that arrived to the track early had no idea who would check in to the pits to compete on this beautiful Friday evening.  Tony Stewart, the three-time Sprint Cup Champion, decided that this night in Auburn would be his first night back behind the wheel of a Sprint car since suffering injuries last August that took him out of NASCAR Championship contention.  With his arrival, a flurry of social media spread amongst fans that were excited to hear the news.  A standing-room only crowd arrived to watch what would be the biggest NASCAR news of the week.


The eager crowd would get to see Stewart compete right away with the SOD heat races starting the racing program.  That first heat would be a dual between #2m Dustin Daggett and Stewart.  Daggett would win be inches at the stripe and brought the crowd to their feet.  This race would foreshadow the feature event.  #16 Ryan Ruhl and #21t Troy Chehowski would win their respective heats.  The 25 lap feature would see Randy Hannagan would take the lead from the pole before Daggett shot out to a large lead by lap 6.  But as the race continued, he would continue to push the cushion on the top side of the speedway.  Eventually he would overshoot a corner within traffic on lap 19.  Stewart, who started fifth, would be able to make the pass and lead the field to the checkered flag.  Once the race was over, Stewart admitted that he did not realize that he had won.  In victory lane, Stewart was greeted by a deafening roar from the fans as an approval of Stewart’s efforts.  Hannagan, Ruhl, Daggett, and Greg Dalman would be the top five finishers.  Chase Ridenour would win the dash.
The early part of the evening for the Elgin Pro Stocks was relatively calm with #40 Ron Bieri, #80 Jeramie Raby, and  #35 Bob Fetters winning their Heat races.  #21 Steve Hilliker, who did not transfer through his qualifying heat had to win the B-main in order to make the feature.  The start farther back in the feature field may have been a blessing for Hilliker as, on lap three, two drivers battling for second place would make contact sending one across the track and into the path of the oncoming cars.  More than half the field, including a majority of the top point runners, was involved.  Many of those drivers would be unable to continue.  Hilliker did sustain some damage from cars checking up in front of him.  However, he was able to pass Raby on lap 17 and lead the final 8 laps to another victory.  Those that survived to finish behind Hilliker were #M65 Rick Spencer, #93 John Robbins, Bieri, and #01 Randy Radabaugh.

The Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA Modified feature wouldn’t fare any better as a number of cautions plagued the race that was scheduled to run 20 laps.  #7d Myron Deyoung would jump to the lead on the first lap from his second row starting position.  Due to the length of time it took to get to lap 10, they were given a two-lap shootout.  However, no one had anything for DeYoung as he would pick up his second feature in a row.  #72 Terry Gittins would finish as the runner-up and was followed by #19f Joe Fowler, #20w AJ Ward, and #33 Todd Matheson.  Heat gold went to Gittins, DeYoung, and Fowler.


The new Stevens Cycle Sales and Service Stock V6 Bomber class continues to grow with eight drivers taking the green flag for the feature.  #51 Joshua Englehardt and #74 Andre Bergevin would swap the lead a number times in the early laps.  #09 Jack Freese would find a way around those drivers and cruise to victory lane.  Post race inspection reversed the race finish and #K11 Kendall Morrision, who finished second, was declared the winner.  Bergevin, #99 Dustin Beauchamp, #52 Richard Shuler, and #21 Andy Koczenasz were the top five.  Freese and Morrison would win their heat race.


In the Auburn Hotel Bar and Grill Street Stocks, #7r Dave Newcomb, #72 Matt Erndt, and #21 Dan Engel were victorious in their preliminary heat races.  Newcomb, starting on the pole for the feature event would jump out to the lead and was lightly challenged as he cruise to another victory as he finished ahead of #28 Jared Rizer, #57 TJ Gilbert, Engel, and #67 Ryan Fitzgerald.

Bring the gang to Tri-City Motor this Friday as we welcome area pastors to the speedway to compete in the Faster Pastor race.   Check out for more information regarding the remaining schedule, updated points, and results. Don’t forget that you can download our brand-new Smartphone app!!! Search “Tri City Motor Speedway” or “Tri City Racetrack” in your App Store and download this free app to receive access to instant updates, schedule information, results, points and more!!

07/18/2014 Clements Contracting Winners:

Auburn Hotel Bar and Grill Street Stocks: #7r Dave Newcomb
7.18.2014 Feature Winner Website-16







Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA Modified: #7d Myron DeYoung
7.18.2014 Feature Winner Website-13







Elgin Pro Stocks: #21 Steven Hilliker
7.18.2014 Feature Winner Website-9







Sprints On Dirt: #14 Tony Stewart
7.18.2014 Feature Winner Website-3


Steven’s Cycle Sales and Service Stock V6 Bombers: #K11 Kendall Morrison