RSS Facebook YouTube

Tri-City Motor Speedway Finally Opens 2013 Season

By admin | 07 May 2013 | Headlines | | 0 Comments   

Tri-City Motor Speedway Finally Opens 2013 Season

05/03/2013 (Auburn MI)   Wet weather and cold temperatures caused the opening night at Tri-City Motor Speedway to be postponed for two weeks.  However, the wait was well worth it for competitors and fans alike.  Standing room only and 105 cars made their way to the historic grounds in Auburn, a night sponsored by J&L Transport, to kick off the 2013 race season.  Five full classes provide non-stop entertainment to those that have waited over 6-months that witness high powered race action on the 3/8ths mile clay oval.

Twenty Comp Cams Late Models started the feature action with #25 Chris Brindley and #20D Dan Delong bringing the strong field of drivers to the green flag.  Brindley would lead the inaugural lap before being shuffled back by Delong.  Delong was able to complete the remaining 24 laps to pick up his first feature win in a number of years.  St John’s Driver, Ox Zach Olger could only muster a runner-up finish after numerous re-starts that allowed him to start next to Delong.  Kawkawlin veteran #75 Rod Laney finished a strong third.  Track record holder #13 Scott Baker, out of Ionia, finished fourth with #0p of Kris Patterson Jr. rounding out the top 5.  Heat races were captured by Baker and Delong.

The Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA Modifieds had 27 competitors go after the 20 spots available in the feature.  Qualifying heats were won by #776 Rusty Zeigler, #20W Aj Ward, and #7d Myron Deyoung.  The final transfer spots were decided via a b-main that was won by #14 Chris Barton.  The main event was led to the green flag by #33 Todd Matheson and Ward.  It looked like Ward was on his way to winning the opening feature of the season, but it was St. Charles native #19 Joey Fowler that had other intentions.  He would make the pass out of turn four on lap seventeen and cruise to the victory.  This marked the 40th consecutive year that Fowler has won a feature event.  Ward would have to settle for second.  He was followed by #42 Craig Vance, #90v Bob Hudson, and #72 Terry Gittens.

21 Elgin Pro Stocks also showed a lot of promise of being a tough class with a lot of talent making first time appearances on the dirt surface.  #99 Rick Beauchamp, #80 Jeramie Raby, and #44 Jeff Haley looked to be the early favorites for the feature win by capturing the earlier heat races. However, it was defending champion, Whittemore native #M65 Rick Spencer that showed he is still the man to beat by taking the feature lead within the first six laps and leading to the checkered flag in pursuit of defending his 2012 Pro Stock championship.  Defending IMCA champion #24 Don Hintz made a surprising run towards the front in the final five laps to capture that runner up spot.  Raby finished third with #31z John Zawacki and #77m Kevin Morell taking home top five finishes. #77d Darren Mularz won the B-main.


The Auburn Hotel Bar and Grill Street Stock Division feature was the hardest ticket to get with over 30 drivers going after the coveted 20 feature spots.  Former asphalt drivers had a strong showing this evening with #3 Loren Short, #21 Dan “Evil” Engel, and #0 Ray Derminer winning preliminary races to gain admittance to the feature.  Other winners were #28 Jared Rizer and #119 Mike Sparks picking up the other two checkered flags.  Three and four wide racing was common at the drop of the green in the feature event.  #7d Brenten Deyoung led the opening laps before Engel was able to wrestle the lead away and was at the point for the majority of the event.  It looked like Engel was on his way to his first dirt feature victory.  However, 13th starting Sparks marched his way to the front with five laps to go and was able to cruise to victory.

Steven’s Cycle Sales Front Wheel Drive Stock Rockets provided some exciting action despite the lower car count.  #K11 captured his first checkered flag in his heat race, but was not able to show the same strength in the feature.  #95 Duane Winchell Jr. was able to make his way past #7 Tyler Morell and lead the final three laps to grab his first checkered flag of 2013.  Morell, Morrison, and #99 Dustin Beauchamp completed the top four.


Next week is the ultimate tailgate.  Come on out and bring the grill and pre-party before the start of the night’s program.  Juice Roosters Band will perform from 5pm-dark. Lm’s, IMCA, SS, and PS are back on the racing card with a Matress race scheduled.  Dan Dan the Mattress Man is your entertainment sponsor for the evening.  For more information regarding next weeks show and any show in 2013, visit our website !  Come see what everyone is talking about at the New Tri City Motor Speedway!!!

05/03/13 WINNERS:

Comp Cams Late Models: #20D Dan Delong
5.3.2013-Feature-Late Model, Dan DeLong #20d

Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA Modifieds: #19F Joey Fowler
5.3.2013-Feature-IMCA Modified, Joe Fowler #19f

Auburn Hotel Bar and Grill Street Stocks: #119 Mike Sparks
5.3.2013-Feature-street stock, Mike Sparks #119

Elgin Pro Stocks: #M65 Rick Spencer
5.3.2013-Feature-Pro Stock, Rick Spencer #m65

Steven’s Cycle Sales Stock Front Wheel Drive Rockets:  #95 Duane Winchell Jr
5.3.2013-Feature-Stock FWD, Duane Winchell Jr. #95