RSS Facebook YouTube

Wonch and Derminer Win First Features at Tri-City Motor Speedway

By admin | 25 August 2013 | Headlines | | 0 Comments   

08/23/2013 (Auburn MI)   It was another perfect night for racing as Friday night welcomed fans and drivers to Michigan’s newest dirt track.  With 109 cars and drivers packing the pit area on the final night of racing before the 2013 Season Championships next week.  He evening was sponsored by Mueller’s Auto Repair and Machine Shop of Auburn.  Some first time winners, along with crowd favorites shined in their feature events.  The evening was capped off with the third and final running of the Figure Eight feature for 2013.

Fifteen cars started the 24-lap figure-eight feature and it was #8 Aaron Spearling that began the event with a commanding lead.  However, he would become a victim of one of the tractor tires and retire early from the event.  #0 Ray Derminer had started the night on a rough note by breaking the rear end of his primary car during the qualifying session.  He jumped behind the wheel of his wife’s racecar and found himself at the front of the pack.  He was able to swiftly maneuver through the intersection and lapped traffic and held off a hard-charging #51 Todd Winchell to find himself in victory lane for the first time on dirt at Tri-City Motor Speedway.  Winchell would finish a close second and was followed by #1 Randy Radabaugh, #34 Jerry Oatley, and #80 Gerald Persails.

#78 Brody Bowser and #19f Joe Fowler won heat races for the Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA modified division.  #511 Chaz Pray and #5 Tanner Pray led the field to the green flag for the feature event.  Chaz would lead the first four laps before Fowler would take over from his ninth place starting spot.  However, rookie #98 Austin Wonch would show some experience and wise moves to make the pass on the veteran Fowler on lap twelve.  The fifteen year old, Wonch, was able to hold off point leader #20w AJ Ward, #26 Tom Sova, Fowler, and Bowser, who overcame a first lap spin, to win his first feature event of 2013.

There had been a lot on discussion on Facebook earlier on Friday discussing the visit of Midwest Late Model racer #55 Jeep Van Wormer making a rare appearance at Tri-City Motor Speedway and how that would match up against current point leader #0x Zach Olger.  Jeep, fresh off of his World of Outlaw Late Model win at Winston the week prior, looked good early as he won his heat race.  #24 Alex Hupert won the other heat race.  The real challenge came in the twenty-five lap feature event.  Both Olger and Van Wormer would start in row five at the drop of the green flag.  #6r Carl Ries, #4 Chad Anklam, and #21h David Hilliker would take turns leading the event before Olger took over on lap ten.  Vanwormer moved himself to the second position before retiring due to a shredded right rear tire.  This would allow Zach to pick up another feature and about seal his Championship for 2013. The rest of the top five were #117 Kevin Reeve, Hilliker, #77k Steve Kester, and #5 Brook Brasington.

The Auburn Hotel Street Stock class had 36 drivers try to make it to the feature event that only starts 20 cars.  #75s Kevin Strong, #3 Loren Short, #28 Jared Rizer, and #21e Dan Engel won the heat races.  The B-main victors were #73 Kyle Reilly and #32 Steve Ulman.  #M2 Mike Pashak led the first two laps of the feature until Short took over on lap three.  He would dominate the feature event, winning by a straightaway over the rest of the field.  Ulman, #7d Brenten Deyoung, Engel, and Rizer would be the remainder of the top five.

Isaac Wolfgang took the field to the green flag and led the opening laps of the Elgin Pro Stock Feature event.  #53 Shane Aeschliman, would had been forced into the backstretch guardrail on the opening lap, was able to muscle his ill handling machine to the lead on lap three.  However, by lap twelve, the previous winner of the past two weeks, #21 Steve Hilliker took control.  The veteran driver would show the way to another feature win. #71 Timmy Near finished a distant second with #93 John Robbins, Aeschliman, and #77d Darren Mularz completing the top five. Aeschliman, Hilliker, and #M65 Rick Spencer won the heat races. #B76 Vern Buskirk won the B-Main.

Next week is Season Championships at TCMS.  This full show will also include, Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA Modified, Elgin Pro Stocks, and Auburn Hotel Street Stocks, Comp Cams Late Models, Steven’s Cycle Sales and Service Front Wheel drive Stock Rockets and Mini Sprints. General Admission for adults $14, 55 and better $13, 7-13 year olds $8, 6 years and under FREE! The first race will be on the track at 7:55.  For more information regarding next week’s shows and any show in 2013, Including the Battle By the Bay on September 6th and 7th and the Sprints on Dirt Season Championship on Saturday September 21st, visit our website !  Come see what everyone is talking about at the New Tri City Motor Speedway!!!

08/23/2013 Mueller Auto Repair and Machine Shop Night Winners:

Auburn Hotel Bar and Grill Street Stocks: #3 Loren Short
8.23.2013 Feature Winner Website-1   

Elgin Pro Stocks- #21 Steven Hilliker
8.23.2013 Feature Winner Website-2

Comp Cams Late Models: #0x Zach Olger
8.23.2013 Feature Winner Website-4

Main Street Seed and Supply IMCA Modified: #98 Austin Wonch
8.23.2013 Feature Winner Website-3

Figure 8: #0 Ray Derminer
8.23.2013 Feature Winner Website-5