RSS Facebook YouTube

Zach Olger Cashes In At Tri-City Motor Speedway

By admin | 19 August 2012 | Headlines | | 0 Comments   

08/17/12 WINNERS:

PRW Late Models: #0x Zach Olger

Stock FWD Rockets: #95 Duane Winchell Jr.

J&L Transport IMCA Modified: #42m Dan Minikey Jr

Auburn Hotel Street Stock: #7r Dave Newcomb

Elgin Pro Stocks: #54 Chaney Newland


Zach Olger Cashes In At Tri-City Motor Speedway


08/17/12 (Auburn MI)   After a weekend that saw over six inches of rain at the grounds of the New Tri -City Motor Speedway, fans and drivers will eager to get back to the Auburn speed plant for some Friday night racing.  Wieland Contracting, Wix Filters, and ninety-four drivers were on hand to deliver a show that the fans would find entertaining and adrenaline-filled

Twenty PRW Late Model drivers were led to the green flag by Kingsly driver #96 Andy Chester and Midland’s #42 Bruce Vance.  Vance was able to take the early lead for the fourty-four lap feature and le the first thirteen laps.  However, #0x Zach Olger, from St. Johns, was making his moves from his eighth starting position to make a bid for the lead.  Earlier in the night, Olger broke the track record with a lap time of 13:301 seconds (96.8 Average MPH) and collected a cool $400 for the fast lap.  Track conditions had changed to a slightly slicker surface within the first dozen laps of the feature causing Olger to change his race strategy by running the high line to take the lead on lap fourteen.  Olger looked to walk away with another TCMS feature win, but Holland Ohio driver #77k Steve Kester was also maneuvering through traffic to challenge Olger for the top spot.  A late race caution with six laps remaining bunched the field up for a final time.  Kester gave it all he had but came up a half car length short as Olger claimed his second feature win of the season.  Point Leader #55 Roger Wing finished third and was followed by #20d Dan Delong and #0p Kris Patterson Jr.  Heat victories went to Chester, Olger, and Vance.

The Front-Wheel Drive stock class provided some early excitement in their feature event as front row starter #97 Cheyanne Harrington lost control of her car after contact with #99 Dustin Beauchamp knocking them both out in the first lap.  This left a four lap shootout for the remaining drivers.  #95 Duane Winchell Jr., in his Pontiac Grand Prix,  made his way to the front of the field on the next green flag lap to pick up the feature win.  #7 Tyler Morell would finish runner-up with #44 of Katie Debats completing the top three.  Winchell also won the heat.

It was another exciting J&L Transport IMCA Modified feature event as Clio driver #11 Chaz Pray and #72 Terry Gittens brought the field of twenty to the initial green flag.  Pray would eventually take the lead after a couple incidents.  By lap eleven, #42m Dan Minikey Jr. took over the point and eventually saw some challenges by #19f Joey Fowler and Points leader #EZ1 Don Hintz.  Despite plenty of three and four-wide racing, Minikey was able to hold off the field for another TCMS feature win.  Fowler would settle for another runner-up finish and was closely followed by Hintz, Pray and fourteen year old driver #14 Chris Barton.   #42 Craig Vance won the B-main with Fowler, Deyoung, and #78 Brody Bowser posing for heat race wins.

The Elgin Pro Stocks had another strong showing with twenty cars taking the green flag for their feature which was led by #31 Mark Howie and rookie #11 Chris Peyerk , who would lead the opening laps.  Linwood driver, #99 Rick Beauchamp, would take over the lead until around the halfway point of the twenty lap feature.  However, just as we have seen all season, Pierson pilot #54 Chaney Newland came from mid-pack to snatch the lead and another TCMS checkered flag.  Beauchamp would again have to settle for second place.  #94 Chad Raby also worked through a great deal of traffic to finish third and was followed by #11L Josh Loomis and asphalt driver #31z John Zawacki.  Another asphalt driver #53 Jacob Caverly won the B-main.  Heats were also won by Newland, Beauchamp, and Loomis.

Those that left before the final event, the Auburn Hotel Street Stock feature, missed one of the most entertaining races of the night.  Pole-sitter, #1 Kevin Gunsel led the initial two laps of the twenty lap affair before sophomore driver #28 Jared Rizer wrestled the lead away.  Rizer, who looked strong all night long, looked well on his way to picking up his first ever feature win.  However, #10 Brent Reil and defending champion #7r Dave Newcomb were also methodically working through heavy traffic to challenge Rizer for the top spot.  The final six laps were tense as the three drivers swapped lanes and positions around the 3/8ths mile oval.  With a lap and a half left, Rizer would be hesitant to make his way around a lapped car which also caused contact with Reil.  This was all Newcomb would need to take the checkered flag for his Wieland Contracting sponsor.  Rizer, Reil, point leader #21d Darren Mularz, and last week’s winner #75s Kevin Strong filled the top five.   #96 Ricky Smith claimed the B-main while heat gold going to Strong, #75 Kenny Keller Jr., and Reil.

Next week, our four regular divisions (LM, IMCA, PS, SS) will be in action as well as the series finale of the Figure Eight division ($548 to win) sponsored by Graff Chevrolet in Bay City.  In addition, it is Police and firefighter appreciation night.  Those personnel will receive free admission with proper ID.  We will also have Jeep drags during intermission.  Gates open at 5pm, hot laps at 6:45pm, Beat the Track Record at 7:30pm and racing at 7:55pm.  If you can’t make it, follow all the results via Twitter at or on our Tri City Motor Speedway Facebook page (Don’t forget to “like” us)!!!  Also, for more information regarding drivers or the 2012 schedule including the Season ending “Battle By The Bay” on Friday and Saturday September 7th and 8th, you can find us at !  Got Dirt?  Get it this season at the New Tri City Motor Speedway!!!